ITS BEEN A MONTH!!!

and I know I suck at updates but the workload here is insane. Just thought I could pop in and tell what’s been happening the past couple weeks. School has officially started and we’re finally getting the hang of things. We’ve made several new friends from other countries spanning from South Africa and Korea to Germany New Zealand. The school atmosphere is vastly different from America and to be honest, it’s way better. (and ya’know it’s pretty great to see palm trees on the walk to the Spanish classroom.)

Some key points of interest so far to catch you guys up:

-Inez, my Singaporean friend from school, and I traded sandwiches one morning. I gave her her first peanut butter and jelly sandwich. (and I tried my first slice of Kaya bread.)

– We all went out for curry and movies a while back and movie theaters here are different from America. Here you have assigned seats in the theater their more commercials that you see on TV than you do previews for upcoming movies.

– We went and saw “Cats” at the Marina Bay Sands and it was phenomenal!

– We introduced another friend named Shamin to some of Disney’s classic movies. You’d be surprised that not a lot of people have seen the movies we grew up on.

-We have been grocery shopping several times and I never get over the prices. (But hey! At least we know where the nutella is now!)

– We’ve been to a school basketball game and had an amazing time cheering on our fellow students.

– We also went out to a lunch with some of our teachers. They were absolutely amazing and very welcoming and it helped us become more comfortable with school.

– School lunches here offer many more choices and at least 4 different main entrees a day. It’s safe to say that I don’t miss schools food at all!

That’s all I can think of right now but here is just a quick update! I’ll try to do them more often. Here is the link to Mariah’s new video:

Mariah’s collaboration piece with Ms. Shang.

Thanks!!

with love,

Lauran

Leave a comment